Important Dates

July 6, 2008:
July 20, 2008:
Extended submission deadline (Hard Deadline)

September 8, 2008:
September 12, 2008:
Notification of acceptance

October 5, 2008:
Camera-ready version


Track 3: 1st Broadband Wireless (BW) 2008

Broadband is becoming one of the major driving factors for research and development in the wireless networking area as wireless technology is now competing with wireline both in the access and in the backbone. The trend in the access is towards OFDM-based systems, such as IEEE802.16 WiMAX or 4G LTE (Long Term Evolution). The backbone is mainly witnessing the arrival of mesh networking, be it on a local IEEE802.11s scale or on a metropolitan IEEE802.16f one. Other techniques for increasing bandwidth even further include MIMO and cooperation, on even longer ranges using relays.

The aim of this track is to bring together communities of interests in the area of broadband wireless networking, from the services point of view, the network architectures and protocols as well as lower layer techniques, both from academia and industry. The topics of interest include (but are not restricted to):

Track Chairs

Program Chair Tijani Chahed Telecom SudParis, France
Publicity Chair Dario Maggiorini University of Milano, Italy

Technical Committees

  Pasi Lassila, HUT, Finland
Laura Cottatellucci, Eurecom, France
Rana Ahmed, American University of Sharjah, UAE
Ahmed Al Naamany, Sultan Qaboos University, Oman
Eitan Altman, INRIA, France
Erdal Arikan, Bilkent University, Turkey
Prasanna Chaporkar, IITB, India
Salah Eddine Elayoubi, France Telecom, France
Gabor Fodor, Ericsson, Sweden
Jorge Garia Vidal, UPC, Spain
Ayman Ibrahim, NTI, Egypt
Hui-Tang Lin, National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan
Samir Mohamed, King Fahd University, Saudi Arabia
Theodoros Salonidis, Thomson, France
Dirk Staehle, Wurzburg University, Germany
Sami Tabbane, Supcom, Tunisia
Stavros Toumpis, University of Cyprus, Cyprus
Olli Martikainen, Etla, Finland
Matteo Cesana, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
Foh Chuan Heng, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Yabin Ye, Tsinghua University, China
Antonio Capone, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
Vincentt Gaulthier, TELECOM et Management SudParis, France
Llorenc Cerda, UPC, Spain
Aawatif Hayar, Eurecom, France
Wessam Ajib, UQAM, Canada
Mohamed Assaad, Supelec, France
Mounir Frikha, Supcom, Tunisie
Tania Jimenez, Univ. Avignon, France
Arzad Kherani, IIT New Delhi, India